

We are a network of classroom teachers, veteran educators, industry professionals and friends of scholastic journalism. Serving Texas journalism teachers and students, TAJE's goal is to provide support, resources, training, advocacy and mentorship for our members.

- Provides outreach, mentorship and workshops to all areas of the state by supporting regional representatives elected by members in their respective regions. Private schools have their own representative. Supports New Voices of Texas, a youth-led advocacy movement consisting of student leaders organized to enact legislation to challenge the consequences of the 1988 Hazelwood v. Kuhlmeier Supreme Court decision. · Provides outreach, mentorship and workshops to all areas of
- Supports New Voices of Texas, a youth-led advocacy
- · Provides members with experiences and info for developing successful teaching of journalism and directing of publications by hosting its annual Fall Fiesta convention.
- Provides information at taje.org on social media and in state and regional workshops on new developments, trends, practices and standards to raise the quality of studentproduced media.
- · Works with the Texas Education Agency and the State Board of Education to establish professional criteria for journalism education.
- · Supports and works closely with other scholastic journalism organizations by sharing information and collecting membership dues for:
 - Journalism Education Association
 - Association of Texas Photography Instructors
 - National Scholastic Press Association
 - Columbia Scholastic Press Association
 - Southern interscholastic Press Association

HOW YOU CAN HELP:

- Administrator of the Year Award honors campus/district leadership who supports the journalism education experience.
- Texas Journalist of the Year honors a graduating senior for their work on publications throughout their academic career. The winner and runners-up are recognized at the ILPC Spring Awards Ceremony.
- Pathfinder Award honors journalism educators with seven years (or fewer) experience.
- Trailblazer Award honors educators who set trends and shape Texas journalism.
- Friend of Journalism Award honors efforts to expand the scope and capability of Texas scholastic journalism.
- Texas Treasure honors individuals who spent their careers in Texas journalism and helped, advised, guided and directed other journalism teachers in the state.

- \$1,500 Bill Taylor Memorial Scholarship for the Texas Journalist of the Year. The Texas JOY is entered in the Journalism Education Association's national competition.
- \$1,000 scholarships awarded to four graduating seniors
- Six \$150 summer workshop scholarships for students
- Three \$250 summer workshop scholarships for teachers
- Scholarships for students to attend Fall Fiesta

- Teach sessions at Fall Fiesta.
- Judge Fall Fiesta contests.
- Critique publications for Fall Fiesta.
- Judge Best in Texas contests.
- Mentor other advisers.
- Run for regional representative or executive board.
- Join special committees on an as-needed basis.
- Share experiences and lesson ideas on the TAJE website.

CALENDAR		Best in Texas Yearbook entries due CenTex Virtual Invitational UIL Meet Best in Texas Online News, Print News and Broadcast entries due
	Feb. 15, 2025	Deadlines for Journalist of the Year and TAJE Scholarships

HOW WE PAY IT FORWARD:

WHAT TAJE DOES:

- Fall Fiesta Best of Show contest for publications and broadcasts
- Fall Fiesta photo, video, design, writing and broadcast contests
- Fall Fiesta sessions and on-site critique feedback
- Best in Texas competition for student work in yearbook, print news, online news and broadcast with category winners named Best of the Best
- Central Texas Virtual Journalism Invitational Meet co-sponsored with UIL
- Provide leadership opportunities for journalism students as New Voices officers and Student Advisory Panel members



Our annual three-day convention features outstanding speakers, contests, critiques, fun and so much more for advisers and students.



CONTRACTOR ASSOCIATION Of JOURNALISM EDUCATORS

President: Michael Reeves, James Bowie HS - president@taje.org President-Elect: Stephen Green, Caney Creek HS - presidentelect@taje.org Past President: Kari Riemer, Hendrickson HS - pastpresident@taje.org Secretary: Alexis Prieto-Berkey - secretary@taje.org Treasurer: Margaret Edmonson, Smithson Valley HS - treasurer@taje.org State Director: Lisa Roskens, Prosper HS - statedirector@taje.org

Contest Director: Andrea Negri, Cypress Woods HS - contests@taje.org Convention Directors: Alison Strelitz, Westlake HS - convention@taje.org Sue Jett, San Antonio - convention2@taje.org Webmaster: Mauri Sparks, Stephen F. Austin HS - webmaster@taje.org

Education Chair: Laura Negri, Alief Kerr HS - education@taje.org *Legislative and Policy Chair:* David Doerr, Akins Early College HS - policy@taje.org

ILPC Liaison: Alyssa Boehringer, Austin - aboehringer@uiltexas.org ATPI Liaison: Mark Murray, Santa Fe, New Mexico - mmurray@atpi.org

Executive Director: Cindy Todd, Buda - director@taje.org

Contact any of these people with questions or to get more involved.

EXECUTIVE BOARD & COMMITTEE CHAIRS